Making my laundry soap!

So we finally ran out of laundry soap and I decided to make my own. After seeing so many people swearing by this stuff on Pinterest, I thought I would give it a go.

Now, many different people have their own recipe. This is the one that I used and seems pretty good. If you have something better, that’s awesome. I like this one because it’s easy for me to remember.

*wow*

What you need:

  • 1 bar of Fels-Naptha Soap (I got mine at Walmart for like $1)
  • 1 cup of Borax (got it at Walmart for $3.99)
  • 1 cup of Washing Soda (got it at Walmart for $3.49. This is washing soda and not baking soda.)
  • 1 cup of water
  • At LEAST one container for your finished product to go in (I used an old laundry detergent container…if you have more containers, the better!)

Grate your Fels-Naptha Soap into a saucepan. GRATE IT. I tried to chop it up because my grater was at school and my finished product seems to have more chunks (they didn’t break down as well). Grate the whole bar of soap. Add the cup of water and cook on medium for about 30 minutes (or until the soap is dissolved and not chunky). Just keep stirring!

Then add one cup of Borax and one cup of Washing Soda. Just keep stirring until everything is mixed up well and it turns really thick like grits

Since I only had one containter, I put about 1/3 of this in my blue containter and the rest I poured in a glass jar for my next batch of soap. This is the concentrate. This stuff is pretty thick already so a funnel may be the easiest way to get it in your bottle.

The 1/3 amount from my blue containter, I added hot water about 1/2 up the bottle. Then I shook it! Just shake it until everything seems to be mixed up. Then…well, I left it overnight. Yep, I just left it alone (What?! Your leaving it alone? Are you done? Are you sure?! AHHHHH). For real. Just leave it alone. Chill out.

The next morning I noticed how thick this stuff got. So I added hot water pretty much to the top and started shaking it again. Shake shake shake! Everything should be pretty well mixed up.

And that’s it. You have your laundry detergent, folks. It really is that easy. I don’t use a scent but you could always add a few drops of lemongrass oil or peppermint oil to your batch in the last stage.

Oh, what am I going to do with the stuff in the jar? Well, once I used up the stuff in the blue bottle, I’m going to take about half of that goop and add it to 1/2 the container of hot water. Shake it like a mad woman. Let it sit overnight. Add the rest of the water. Shake like a mad woman again. Bam!

And who would of thought that this would of been so easy? No me. I should of been doing this YEARS ago!

Good luck and happy washing!

xxoo

Tasha

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY

Leave a Reply

