Doggie Treats

I will never call myself a baker. Ever. I like to cook because I can be “Willy Nilly”. Add a little of this, a dash of that. I like the whole “I’m just going to throw a bunch a crap together and see what I can come up with” aspect of cooking. Baking? You can’t do that. You need to be precise and exact (as least more so than cooking). So when I decided to try making doggie treats for the first time, I knew I was going to be afraid. I knew I had to be exact. Needless to say, they didn’t turn out how I wanted them to. But really, this resipe is so easy, I think trying it a few more tries will get it just right. (But really, who the hell cares? It’s for my dog. Do you think she cares? No me.)

What you need:

-2 cups flax seed (ground)

-1/2 cup water

-1 tablespoon peanut butter

-1 very over ripe banana

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix everything together (mix the banana in well or you will have chunks. Unless you want chunks like I did). Roll into balls or into a mold (my mold was a star and was way too big and thick. Put them on a cookie sheet for 20 minutes.

Ta Da!

Of course Betty gobbled them up but she isn’t picky. I think I’m going to make them smaller next time because they didn’t seem to cook as well as I was hoping. Maybe I just wasn’t patient and needed to let them sit in the oven just a wee bit longer. Oh well. Like I said, I think they just need a bit more tweeking and they will be pretty darn tasty.

xxoo

Tasha

Leave a comment

Filed under Betty, Boston Terrier, dog, food

Leave a Reply

