Homemade Playdough

Working with kids, I can’t tell you how much I love playdough! I love the texture, I love how many things you can make with it, I love how creative kids are with it. Needless to say, I was upset that I didn’t have any in my classroom.

So a few weeks ago, I took a few days off and I made playdough. Yep. I took days off from work from my crazy kids and then I ended up making something for my crazy kids. Damn it. I got sucked in. I can’t help it though. I like to do things for them. I know, I’m a sucker for them.

So I found this recipe and tried it out. I’ve never made playdough before so I really didn’t know what to expect. The funny thing is, I was surprised of how easy it was to make! I should of done this years ago! I have to admit that my wooden spoon and measuring spoons with NEVER be the same (one is pink and one has glitter permanently attached).

1 1/2 cups of flour
3/4 cups of salt
1 1/2 cups water
1 TB vegetable oil
1/2 TB cream of tarter 

Put all ingredients in a medium/large saucepan. Set on stove over medium heat and continually stir.

When the dough sticks together and all  the liquid disapears, take the pan off the heat. Add your food coloring and/or glitter if you want at this stage! After the playdough cools slightly, dump it out and start kneading!

Once it is all rolled out and bound together, put it in a air tight container.

Because it was so easy to make, I made a pinkish/peach color, green, and blueish with glitter. All of them turned out well (although I’m not a fan of the peachy color). I hear if you use the gel food coloring, the color will come out a little bit better.

Happy DIY!

xxoo

Tasha

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Kids, Preschool

Leave a Reply

