DIY Dry Erase Board

Welcome to another edition of Sunday Night Fix (I know, the last 2 weekend I was a slacker. I know. We were out of town for our 2 year wedding anniversary to Raleigh, then a wedding in PA last weekend. We’ve been a little busy.) This past week, I decided to make my very own dry erase board. I saw the idea on Pintrest and I’m totally obsessed with everything on their site. Like, for real. EVERYTHING. I’m getting a little nuts. Ok, a lot of nuts.

But the dry erase board? Seriously, it’s not as hard as I thought. Plus, it’s going to be great in my classroom. Keep score on it. Have the kids practice their letters or numbers on it. I may just make a few of them! Seriously, they are THAT easy.

What you need?

  • Picture frame (nothing nice) with glass
  • light colored scrapbook paper or fabric
  • scissors
  • glue

All I bought was a wooden frame for a certificate or picture. I found it at the dollar store (can’t beat it).  At school, I found some extra scrapbook paper in a bin in our supply room. You could also use fabric if you had it laying around. We had paper, so that’s what I used!

I went with a light colored paper because I wanted to see the marker on the glass. If I went with something darker, it would of defeated the purpose!

My choice was a light yellow paper. Nothing fancy or overdone. Nothing with too much pattern (my kids would be distracted…I need them to focus!). Very simple but useful. Plus, it works with all kids of dry erase markers. Red, blue, green, or black!

Then I took the cardboard backing of the frame and cut the paper to size. Next, I glued the scrapbook paper to the cardboard.

Finally I put the cardboard back on the frame with the paper side towards the glass, put the metal clasps back on top of the cardboard, and volia! That’s it. Your done! Now practice on your masterpiece and be proud!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I told you this was easy…so easy, I don’t know why I didn’t make one before. If you have a preschooler or a child learning to write, this is perfect! You could take it in the car, use it on the floor…hell, you could even put it on your fridge and write important dates on it! The possiblities are endless.

Until next week!

xxoo,

Tasha

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Kids, Preschool, Sunday night fix

Leave a Reply

