Keeping active (kinda)

I’ve never been much of a “runner”. I’m not much of a “excercise nut”. I don’t sit on a treadmill. Although I’m thin, I just don’t exercise. Instead, I much rather sit on my butt, watch tv, and eat ice cream/popcorn/gummie worms (not together though). And guess what? That’s what I’ve been doing for the last…..10 or so years.

In middle school and high school, I played softball. And that’s about it. I didn’t walk…run…jog…I wasn’t all that active. I LOVED softball. It was my life for many years, but then I started high school and I didn’t really want to do it anymore. I got bored with it. I felt like I had better things to do (believe me, I should of kept playing softball so I stayed out of trouble!). So I quit softball and have been sitting on my butt ever since.

At the beginning of this summer, I decided that I wanted to start walking. Yep, just walking. My knees hurt when I run so I knew I could do that. I’ve tried spin class and that hurt my knees too. But walking? I feel great! The best thing is that across the street from our condos, we have a walking trail. It is 2.25 miles all the way around and perfect for Betty and I. What the hell, at least it keeps me active (kinda).

Since my promotion, I’ve had to change my schedule. Due to this schedule change, I’m home by 4pm (which is awesome!). So from 4 to 5, I felt like I needed to fill the time with something more productive then sitting on my rear end and catching up on shows from the DVR. I miss being in shape like I was when I played softball. I had killer abs! Although I’m not going to get my killer abs back (I wish), I at least wanted to start getting back in shape.

So this week I started walking this 2+ mile walk. Betty and I did it on Tuesday and it was great. We both felt great and walked it with no problems. Today, however, was very different. Apparently my Boston Terrier didn’t get the memo that her mama wanted to start this whole “walking” thing 3 days a week.

What a hot mess!

After walking one mile, this is what I had to drag home. How am I suppose to get my booty toned if my dog is dying while we walk? Oh Betty. Maybe Saturday morning will be better.

xxoo

Tasha

Leave a comment

Filed under Betty, Boston Terrier, dog, summer, walking

Leave a Reply

