Da Beach…

For the last 7 years, I have been going with Ray’s family to da beach. I look forward to it every year. We have only miss one year (2009) and that was because we got married that year instead.

Sure, I have lived 8 blocks from the beach all of my life. My mum still lives in the same house I grew up in. I can still walk to the beach whenever I’m in Norfolk. Although it’s nothing fancy, it’s my little piece of childhood. I’ve been there for school field trips in elementry school, left school early in high school to sunbath, and had the time of life as a child on the sand.

But there is something different about going down to the Outer Banks for a vacation. The sands not different. The water isn’t different. The vibe is different.

Although Ray’s family has been going down to the Outer Banks since Ray’s sister was little, I’ve never had the luxury of a vacation. Ever. They go EVERY. SINGLE. YEAR. I’m just not used to that. We never had family vacations like that. Hell, we never had family vacations (and when my dad died when I was 11, we did have a “family vacation” to the Poconos, but I’m not counting that). As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried to take a week off to just get away for awhile. Vermont when I was 12. New Orleans when I was 16, 17, and 18. And now the Outer Banks since I was 19.

While we are gone to da beach (I love saying it like that. It just rolls off the tounge), Betty has to stay with my mum. She stayed with her last year and Betty always has such a good time. We used to take her to the vet because they have a kennel, but she doesn’t eat and stresses out WAY too much (calm down, puppy!). She never acts that way with my mum! I’m sure it’s because my mum spoils her, but what else is new? Betty IS her only grand-doggie. I shouldn’t expect anything less!

Plus, while we are gone, we always go to Outer Barks and get her some treats. I mean, how could I not want to bring something back to this wonderful face?

Betty Ann

Leave a comment

Filed under beach, Betty, Boston Terrier, summer

Leave a Reply

